T. charles Shafer Attorney At Law PLLC.

Category: DUI

Local Attorney Serves on Seminar Panel for DUI Practitioners

A two -day seminar was held in Tampa entitled, “ Blood, Breath & Tears XXV.” It was presented by the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and approved by the Florida Bar. T. Charles “Chuck” Shafer, a local criminal defense attorney, served as a panelist for the segment entitled, “Getting to Know Your Client.” Attorneys who attended the seminar received 14 hours of continuing legal education credit, which included .5 Ethics hours. Other topics that were discussed included Case Law, Blood Testing, Motions to Suppress, Jury Selection, DMV, SUID, Ethics of DUI and Breath Testing and FDLE. Shafer’s practice is… Read More →

Possible DUI Defenses

Have you or a loved one been arrested for driving under the influence? Do you feel like there is no way to defeat your charges? Often times people charged with DUI tend to want to admit guilt and move on. Don’t fall into this lure! You can fight your charges, no matter what the circumstances are. As an experienced DUI defense lawyer, I understand the ins and outs of the court system. That being said, I know the most effective defense strategies that can be used against DUI charges. Some possible DUI defenses include the following: Lack of reasonable cause:… Read More →

Underage Drunk Driving In Florida

It is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase or consume alcohol. It is also illegal for an underage minor to drive under the influence of alcohol. Florida has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. While the legal limit for drivers over the age of 21 is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more, an underage driver will be charged with drunk driving if they have a BAC level of 0.02% or higher. If convicted of underage DUI in Florida, the penalties for a first offense typically include:… Read More →

Fight Breath And Blood Test Evidence

Florida is an “implied consent” state. This means that any individual arrested for a suspected DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) has already given his or her implied consent to submit to breath and blood tests based solely on the fact that the individual was driving on our state roads. It does not matter whether you have an out-of-state license or not, the same regulations apply. Refusing a breath or blood test will result in the automatic suspension of your driver’s license for a minimum of 12 months. Should you refuse a breath or blood test after… Read More →