Underage Drunk Driving In Florida
It is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase or consume alcohol. It is also illegal for an underage minor to drive under the influence of alcohol. Florida has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. While the legal limit for drivers over the age of 21 is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more, an underage driver will be charged with drunk driving if they have a BAC level of 0.02% or higher.
If convicted of underage DUI in Florida, the penalties for a first offense typically include:
- Mandatory license suspension for 6 months
- Mandatory completion of an alcohol education program
- Community service
If convicted, your criminal record could affect your ability to get into college, get a high-quality job, or get a loan. If you were arrested for under 21 drunk driving, you need to hire experienced legal representation immediately.
For more than 25 years our team at T. Charles Shafer, Attorney at Law has provided aggressive defense counsel to clients charged with DUI in Florida. We do not back down no matter what “evidence” the prosecution has against our clients. We can work hard to uncover any errors, mistakes, or violations of your rights and fight to have the charges against you dismissed or acquitted at trial. Contact our firm to schedule a meeting with an experienced DUI lawyer in Fort Pierce.