T. charles Shafer Attorney At Law PLLC.


The Drug War – Time To Wave The White Flag

Recently, while speaking at a presidential forum in New Hampshire, New Jersey governor and presidential hopeful Chris Christie remarked, “… the war on drugs has been a failure — well-intentioned, but a failure.” One only need look at the startling statistics associated with the U.S. “War on Drugs” to see how right he is: Although the U.S. has less than 5 percent of the world’s population, our country houses approximately 25 percent of the world’s prison population. Since the war on drugs began in 1971, the U.S. prison population has surged 700 percent.[1] According to FBI data from 2012, an… Read More →

Attorney Shafer Secures Dismissal Of Client’s Felony Charges

Attorney T. Charles Shafer recently used his skill and experience to secure the dismissal of a client’s felony charges in St. Lucie County, FL. The firm’s client was out on bond for charges of possession of cannabis and resisting arrest when he was charged with armed burglary of a dwelling and aggravated battery. In the state of Florida, these felony offenses are punishable by up to 30 years and 15 years in prison, respectively. According to the prosecutor, the client and two others were involved in a dispute with a woman about money at her apartment complex. The prosecution alleged… Read More →

Attorney Shafer Achieves Dismissal of Client’s Drug Possession Charges

Possession of Cannabis Case of State v. T.L. Dismissed Attorney T. Charles Shafer recently secured the dismissal of a client’s case for possession of cannabis charges. The client had been charged with the crime on the morning of September 17th, 2014, when a St. Lucie County Sheriff’s deputy pulled over his truck for suspicious driving behavior. Although the client consented to the deputy searching the vehicle, he had not consented to being personally searched. Upon exiting the vehicle, the client, who cooperated with instructions and was unarmed, was then patted down by the deputy. The deputy discovered rolling papers, and… Read More →

What Is a Bench Warrant?

Most people think that getting arrested or accused of a crime will never happen in their lifetime, but did you know that you could be arrested for simply not showing up to a traffic ticket court date? Though that may seem extreme, some judges will issue a bench warrant that allows officers to arrest the defendant. Most people don’t realize what bench warrants are and what type of authority they give to law enforcement. Basically, a bench warrant is issued when you fail to follow the orders of the court. Some of the most common examples include: Not showing up… Read More →

Florida Shoplifting Laws

Have you ever been accused of shoplifting? According to statistics, close to 1 in 11 people shoplift. That is nearly 27 million people in the United States. People in all walks of life are accused of shoplifting; from young teenagers to adult crime rings. Whether you have been wrongfully accused or were involved in a misunderstanding, it is important that you are aware of the laws surrounding your case. In the state of Florida, shoplifting is considered retail theft. The following are examples of retail theft crimes: Changing labels or price tags Taking a shopping cart Carrying away or taking… Read More →

The Benefits Of Hiring A Criminal Defense Attorney

Being arrested or accused of a crime can be a very scary and intimidating thing. Not only that, but the legal and criminal process that follows can be extremely confusing. What should you say to police officers? How do you post bail? Will you have these charges on your record for the rest of your life? All of these questions can be overwhelming, especially when you are trying to navigate the legal system at the same. When you have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side, you can rest assured knowing that your case is in qualified hands. A… Read More →

Getting Your Car Fixed After An Accident

When you have had a motor vehicle accident, you probably do not have the luxury of being able to go without your car for very long. Waiting for the repairs to be completed may be very frustrating, and the process may seem very slow. It can be especially difficult to deal with when you have also been injured in the accident. When the other driver is at fault, there are certain things you should do to make certain that driver’s insurance company pays for the repairs to your car so you can concentrate on your own recovery. Claims that might… Read More →

Probation Violations: An Overview

If you are granted probation in place of jail time, you must follow a number of specific requirements. Any failure to adhere to the specific terms of your probation could result in your immediate arrest, the revocation of your probation, and your continued incarceration for the duration of your sentence. You could also be facing fines, an extended sentence and other penalties. Common types of probation violations include: Failure to check in with your probation officer Getting arrested for an additional offense Failure to complete court-ordered counseling Failure to pay court-ordered restitution or fines Failure to show up for mandatory… Read More →

Underage Drunk Driving In Florida

It is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase or consume alcohol. It is also illegal for an underage minor to drive under the influence of alcohol. Florida has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. While the legal limit for drivers over the age of 21 is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more, an underage driver will be charged with drunk driving if they have a BAC level of 0.02% or higher. If convicted of underage DUI in Florida, the penalties for a first offense typically include:… Read More →

Fight Breath And Blood Test Evidence

Florida is an “implied consent” state. This means that any individual arrested for a suspected DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) has already given his or her implied consent to submit to breath and blood tests based solely on the fact that the individual was driving on our state roads. It does not matter whether you have an out-of-state license or not, the same regulations apply. Refusing a breath or blood test will result in the automatic suspension of your driver’s license for a minimum of 12 months. Should you refuse a breath or blood test after… Read More →